The Drop Sixty

The Drop 60

I recently read:

“Concentration is Strength,

Diffusion is weakness.”

My issue is

*

I got a head full of ideas

That are drivin’ me insane”

–Bob Dylan

*

Today when hyper-creativity took me,

I dove onto the mat

like it was a life raft,

even though it was not yoga time

with a quick intention:

“5 Asanas.”

12 Breaths Each.

Then,

I got up.

Went out the door

ran my errands,

Out in the city

Relaxed.

No rush of ideas

that arrive

when  I can’t do anything about them.

Mind clear.

everything was cool.

in the moment.

 felt more alive.

*

I want to make my imagination

useful,

Creative,

not let it be distracting.

*

The Drop 60 worked today.

Just a permission slip

to check in and ground myself

when the head takes off on its own trip.

A new way to choose

when to let imagination flow

and when to say no.

*

I don’t eat all my food for the day at once.

I don’t drink all my water for the day at once.

Why do all my yoga at once?

*

little yogas

are

intermittent bites of Calm

not one 16 course meal

It helps me control my mind

make it a creative I power I use,

Not a power that uses me,

unless I give it permission

when I’m ready to download

from wherever it is

ideas come from.

I

Image

Leave a Reply

