The Dispassionate Observer

(I had written this before the “Somewhere To Go” entry below. 

I decided not to post it when I found my my motivation. 

But I think I found my reason because I had given up searching for it. 

I accepted the place between places, and observed myself within it. 

So I decided to post this in case someone else is in the place 

between places and happens to stumble upon this remote locale

on the edge of Being, where precious few actual readers exist, 

and lone Zengirl tends bar, awaiting the entrance of a stranger 

who either needs a healing word, or who can give one.) 

* * * * * * * * * * *

AWARENESS. 

The Darkness Within

Subtle, Pervasive

The Elusive Obvious

Watch It!

Awareness with no Judgment

No Attachment

No Good

No Bad

I made a little sign

I see often in my day

“How Am I?”

When I see myself

With Unclouded Eyes,

I ask,

Am I serving my intention

Of who I want to Be,

And what I want to Give?

And when I don’t know who I want to be,

or what I want to give,

In moments I feel I’ve outlived

My Reason, My Story,

And Find I’m Still here,

I Just Observe the Being I am

As I am.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Emptiness is more peaceful than The Storm

I feel Grateful for The Nothingness

* * * * * * * * * * *

I observe remnants of a past me

Running on a Familiar

Which no longer has context

The movie feels over

But the camera’s still rolling, expectantly,

And I don’t know what to gun for anymore.

Aware of me Now

With no Judgment

No Attachment

No Good

No Bad

I see me Doing, Being

And through this Dispassionate Observer Within,

I begin to Know, what Mind can only think.

The Answer that comes by Awareness,

Is the Answer.

The answer that comes by thinking

is another false and fleeting lead

that cannot satisfy,

just Mind’s False Promise of a better way,

In a fictional place called Future.

No mission, No horse, No Destination

Yet I still Observe me Doing and Being.

What is your reason? I ask of She,

Who locks Life outside her door,

Only to examine it within her mind.

I ask the One, the Doer, The Be-Her,

Who Does, and Is, Without Motivation

And She says:

I Do for the sake of Doing. 

I Am for the sake of Being. 

And I ask:

What is your pay off?

What motivates?

And She says:

Doing for Doing. 

Being for Being. 

The Truth of pay-off in Future

Is Wilde’s Two Tragedies:

One is not getting what one wants

The other is getting it.

Either Way You Are Not Fed.

So be fed with what is here.

Do what is to be done.

Be as you are.

Stop pondering life,

or you will never live it.

I see the irony of self

In telling myself to stop pondering,

a helpful conclusion,

unearthed,

only after much pondering.

Were I not acquainted with Non-Dualism,

I’d feel all wisdom is insane or one sided.

Thank you Suzuki.

Thank you All Great Teachers

Who make the road possible.

3533_Lone-Joshua-tree-in-the-desert

One thought on “The Dispassionate Observer

  1. Do you have any good anejo behind that bar, Zengirl? I would most enjoy indulging in a little while non-pondering the nature of pondering… 🙂 Splendid and thought-provoking as always, you remain your unique and wonderful self.

Leave a Reply

