Somewhere To Go

If I had succeeded

In the Creative Passions & Pursuits

I’ve poured my heart into

and years into,

I would have continued

Striving, trying

to give something else

Good, Useful, Edifying,

Something worth another’s Time.

* * * * * * * * * * *

The success I sought,

if Attained,

would not have been a finish line.

Why on Earth did I let Failure become one?

* * * * * * * * * * *

Some time ago, I opened a door to I-Ching,

and it opened a door in me.

I was guided to words that became a part of me:

“It furthers one to have somewhere to go.”

The Power and Aliveness of this 5000 year old Truth

revealed a bit more of itself during:

I’m-just-going-to-watch-this-beautiful-summer-sky-and-breathe meditation.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I love looking UP on days like today.

I never get bored.

Sky meditation is a Somewhere-To-Go that Furthers

It awakens The Authentic Happiness,

that isn’t based on something ‘happening.’

* * * * * * * * * * * *

When I first read the I Ching wisdom,

I thought the Somewhere To Go

Must be an Impassioned Life-Mission

A Protracted investment of Time and Attention

Today the Sky helped me see a broader interpretation:

* * * * * * * * * * *

Every moment, every action,

Even contemplating a cloud,

Can be a Somewhere To Go that Furthers.

When I am fully invested in the Present

be it a Task, a time of Relaxation, Play, or Creation,

I am in my Sacred Somewhere To Go.

When I’m all in, there is no self

and that is Liberation.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Buddha’s wisdom teaches, “No self, no problem.”

The Somewhere To Go is The Way

To No Self

No Problem.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Even if my Somewhere To Go is Nothingness,

In my Nothingness,

I am in my Somewhere To Go

Out of Self,

Out of Self’s Growing Story,

Out of Self’s need to drag its heavy past

Into every New Fresh experience

*********

So Somewhere To Go offers Liberation from Self.

Liberation from Self offers Liberation

from Attachment to Success or Failure.

Liberation from Attachment to Success or Failure

Liberates the Artist from the Influence,

Of These Two Non-Finish lines

Which consciously or unconsciously affect

The Creativity of all Artists

Not-Free of Attachment.

* * * * * * * * * * *

NOW,

Work may be pursued in the purity

of non-attachment,

In the Earnestness and Openness

Of the Beginner’s Mind.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Creativity may still Stir Us Up,

Drive us Mad,

Thrill us to Unreason!

Clear calm water

May suddenly Storm!

* * * * * * * * * * *

All the more reason to be free

of the unnecessary, non-contributory,

hindering turmoil, in

Egoic Attachment to Success or Failure.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Neither is a destination

Each is only a Step

On an Artist’s Journey.

Of Infinite Footfalls.

* * * * * * * * * * *

In non-attachment

We reconnect

With Our Pure Creator Within,

and have no more expectations,

than we did in pre-school finger painting

as the artist we were at four years old

As The Pure Beginner’s Mind.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Doesn’t that sound Beautiful and Free?

That is the Feeling of

The Somewhere To Go

That Furthers One.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Whether it is Success Or Failure

that my Creation finds,

I am Furthered

When I am All In,

When Self Is Lost,

When Creating is All.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I am not there

When I am in my Somewhere To Go

I Am My Somewhere To Go

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “Somewhere To Go

  1. Wow. This is truly great writing. You’ve really hit the nail on the head in terms of the importance and power of the present moment, of staying in the doing, of not worrying about results. And you’ve done it with an elegance and beautifully flowing verse. Great insights. Great work. Thank you for elucidating this topic so well. You’re amazing.

  2. Pingback: “Somewhere To Go”: Creativity and The Present Moment. Insightful Thoughts on the Process of Living from Zengirl. | Sacred Square: Inner Journeys in the Outer World

Leave a Reply

